Emily’s simple Fried Green Tomatoes

Homegrown or from the farmers market, green tomatoes are tangy, sour, slightly sweet.  All the recipes I found for them required a lot of ingredients, and as the afternoon monsoon thunderstorm set in, I knew I wasn’t up to running to the store.  So I made do.  And they came out fantastic.  This recipe is scaled for 1, or maybe 2, people and meant to be served as an appetizer or snack.  I enjoyed it at tea time (around 4pm with a mug of authentic chai tea with local honey).

1 medium or large green tomato, use 2 if on the small side

1 egg

3 tbs milk (buttermilk is best, but since I didnt have it I used whole milk powder mixed with a little water)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground pepper

1/2 cup cornmeal, corn flour, etc.  I used masa flour.

Oil for frying (I like grapeseed or cocounut)

 

Mix egg and milk in a small bowl.  In another bowl, mix together the corn flour, salt, and pepper.  Add additional spices if you like (parsley, garlic powder, etc). Slice the tomato into thin slices, about 1/4″ thick.  Heat the oil in the pan on medium-high.  Dunk each tomato slice into the egg/milk, and then coat it with the corn flour.  You can do this a second time if you want a thicker crust on them.  Place each tomato slice in the pan, do not over-crowd or layer them.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, flip, and cook another 2-3 minutes.  Both sides should be a deep golden brown.  Drain on paper towels.  Serve with lemon, hot sauce, or ranch.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Emily’s simple Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. […] Emily’s simple Fried Green Tomatoes – Homegrown or from the farmers market, green tomatoes are tangy, sour, slightly sweet. All the recipes I found for them required a … use 2 if on the small side 1 egg 3 tbs milk (buttermilk is best, but since I didnt have it I used whole milk … […]

    Like

Leave a comment